Will Grayson Will Grayson


It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets.  When fate delivers them both tot he same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurling in new and unexpected directions.  With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.

Let me say that this book wasn’t what I expected it to be.  I was expecting a typical YA novel, and I was a bit leery of the co-authorship of this book.  In my reading adventures, co-authorships usually end up crashing and burning.  And despite what all the reviews of this book had touted, I wasn’t really ready to believe that this book was amazing.

Can I apologize to John Green and David Levithan for even thinking that?

This book was absolutely stunning.  I read it in a single night, literally as soon as I got off of work.  I have this really annoying (for drivers and other pedestrians) ability to read while walking, on the skytrain, and traversing crowds down stairs.  I could probably read while practicing yoga, although I have yet to test this theory out.  Anyways, where I was going with this is that I only use this super-reading ability when a book is absolutely stunning and I cannot put it down lest I miss something.

Will Grayson is a normal teen boy with one stupendously gay best-friend Tiny, who pretty much runs most of Will’s days.  And there’s also Jane, the girl in their small group who Will has on again/off again feelings of attraction to.  When Tiny begins planning the school’s biggest musical debut Tiny Dancer, Will is dragged out of his two rules: 1) Don’t care too much and 2) Shut up.

will grayson is a depressed, medicated wreck who hangs out with maura during the day, and talks with the love of his life Isaac at night… except that he’s never met Isaac.  they met online and have been talking over the internet for the last year.  when they finally have the chance to meet, things don’t go quite as will had planned…

Tiny Cooper is just epic.  No more need be said.

I won’t say anymore because I think I’ve hinted at enough things that just have to be experienced by others when they read this book.  I will say that I definitely cried somewhere in the vicinity of chapter 7.

Overall, I think that this book is important for young people… regardless of their sexual orientation.  It is a book about relationships, about trust, about love.  Young people will be able to read this book and think to themselves, “Hey, I’m not the only one with these problems.”  Or maybe it will help them realize that even the guy who is always helping others out might every now and then need help as well.  Go Tiny!

Leave a comment

Filed under YA Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

