Back from Christmas


I hope everyone had an amazing holiday and a much needed rest.  While I didn’t get as many books read as I was hoping to, I did manage to finish two that were on my “to read” list.

The Geographer’s Library by Jon Fasman was not everything I had hoped for unfortunately.  At first glance, it looks like it will be an interesting mix of mystery, cliche romance, and a catchy narrative.  Nope.  I was wrong.  This book was unbelievably hard to get through (I may have cheated and skipped the last 50 pages).  I will admit that it was nicely written.  Just not the type of story for me.

Third World America by Arianna Huffington was interesting.  If you have been following any of the financial or “news” magazines, you will likely feel that you’ve read all this information before.  I found this book useful in helping to make some of the facts stick just a bit more in my brain.  As far as disaster books go, I’ll give this one a B.  If you like reading this sort of material, read The Shock Doctrine by Naomi Klein.

Anyways, I’m still trying to wake up after being able to sleep in the last week.  Right now I’m reading a book on sewage and how it has impacted cultural development.  I will definitely have a more interesting post for that one!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

