Book trailers and why they rock!


It has only been recently that I have been inducted into the world of book trailers.  I believe the first one I watched was for Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters.

And for a few months, I didn’t see anymore book trailers.  It was as though this funny little clip was all that there was.  True, I wasn’t going out of my way to look for these trailers, but you would expect one or two to pop up on a Google search of the latest book release/ bestseller.

Lately, I’ve been noticing LOTS of book trailers.  And many of them are extremely well done.  There are blogs that are devoted to reviewing and awarding book trailers.  The most comprehensive blog for book trailers out there is Book Trailers.  If you’re not sure what you are looking for, then check out Book Screening, a website that finds the trailers for you.

So why am I loving book trailers lately?  They’re a fun way to browse.  From a promotional standpoint, if your facility has the technology (sound system, small screen T.V.s) then you are reaching a wider audience than by simply displaying the book (I believe that Chapters has already done this in one of their larger stores…).  It’s more interactive, which the younger generation absolutely loves.  And within a minute or two of watching a book trailer, you already know more about the story and the characters than you would if you had spent that minute reading the book jacket or a page.  And I think that this is essential if we want to create readership within young people.  They need to feel a sense of connection with the character (or at least interest) and story in order to stick with it longer than one chapter.

I’m going to work on incorporating book trailers into my displays. We’ll see what the guys think.

Leave a comment

Filed under Rants

Leave a Reply

