Author of the Week – David Sedaris


It was a difficult decision to pick the author that would kick-start the year for me.  But I think that David Sedaris is definitely the right guy to do so.

Born in 1956, he is a Grammy award nominated (not a winner yet, but here’s to hoping!) American writer who dabbles in comedy, radio and… of course… writing.  He was first recognized as talent in ’92 when one of his essays titled “SantaLand Diaries” was broadcasted by the National Public Radio. By the way, if you haven’t read this essay, I highly recommend doing so!  Marc would probably agree with me on this one.

Anyways, in ’94 he compiled his first essays into “Barrel Fever” in which his essays were first made public-public. That’s right.  Not just public, but public-public.  They could be bought for the first time!  Since then he has published quite a few books containing essays full of Sedaris’ brilliance.

1. Naked – 1997

2. Holidays on ice – 1997

3. Me Talk Pretty One Day – 2000

4. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim – 2004

5. When You Are Engulfed in Flames – 2008

If you find that you like his essays, then check out his plays which were co-written with his sister Amy.  Talent runs in the family.  I haven’t read any of the plays myself… but I’ve been told that they are good.  I will probably be checking those out after I finish the few books I’m currently on.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Author of the Week – David Sedaris

  1. Marc

    Yes, I do agree. David Sedaris is brilliant. Worth reading and hearing on NPR. He is a regular on the This American Life Podcast.

Leave a Reply

