Author of the Week- Trudi Canavan


Sometimes I find it hard to find an author that I am really enthusiastic about referring. I mean really enthusiastic.  Not just referring the author because I know that they are on the New York Times Bestseller list, which is one of the resources I use to scope out new fiction.  I’m also a little hesitant of personal recommendations from friends as well.  Which is why (after walking past it, picking it up, and returning it to the shelf for 4 straight weeks) I was a little hesitant to begin reading a book by author Trudi Canavan. After the first couple of chapters I was hooked, and began kicking myself for having waited.  I now am the proud owner of all the Canavan books that I can currently get on my Kindle.  But what makes her writing so incredible?  For one, her writing style is engaging and definitely geared toward young adult/adult (meaning that it’s easy to read, but there are some things that young kids won’t understand).  Her characters are well thought out, they become less “fiction” and more realistic as they develop in the story, if that makes any sense.  And… the plot… there’s actually a plot to it…amazing.  So those are a couple of the reasons why I liked her writing.  There will definitely be people who don’t agree with me on this, but as she is an international bestseller, there aren’t many.  For those of you who enjoy fantasy, don’t hesitate.  Go find one of her books and begin reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

