MARVELous


As a kid, I used to collect comic books.  My favourites were  Wonder Woman (go figure), and X-Men.  This phase lasted for about four years of me buying every comic I could from the local “collectibles” shop in Vanderhoof and Williams Lake.  I don’t actually know why I stopped… but that’s about to change.  My love of comics has returned! It’s like walking into a candy store for the first time after years of forced avoidance.  It’s MARVELous!  There’s Deadpool and Batman and.. and… so many others I can barely take it all in.  And I’m bringing them to the library with me! I’m starting small.  So far we have Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Deadpool: Secret Invasion and (not a Marvel comic guys!)  Hammer of the Gods.  My favourite of these three is definitely Batman.  I love the fact that Batman could be your grandfather in this comic, and he’s STILL kicking bad guy butt! Go Batman!   And the ending is a doozy. Frank Miller really knows how to make ’em.

Deadpool is a little… crazy.  Literally.  The guy is insane.  If you are not familiar with the character already, then this comic is just going to have you shaking your head in confusion.  I know the character, and I was hard pressed to understand what was and was not actually happening to him in the comic. My second time through I finally figured it out.  What’s interesting about Deadpool is that he’s portrayed in the 2009 movie X-Men Origins: Wolverine.  It was pretty epic considering I don’t believe that he’s been depicted in an X-Men comic outright, but don’t quote me on that.  And supposedly there is going to be a X-Men Origins: Deadpool film coming out soon starring Ryan Reynolds.  It sounds interesting, but I doubt that it will stick to the comic anti-hero that we’re used to.  But, I’m always up for a good action flick and anything with Deadpool is bound to offer just that.  Although some don’t believe that Hollywood is crazy enough to make it work, especially Deadpool himself.  He wants to make sure people get the real story of his origins. I will definitely have to check out what he has to say!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

